Skip to content

Pasta! Pasta!

August 18, 2011

Insalata di mare

These days I’ve been trying to sharpen my skills and palate, by going italian for my lunches.

Last weekend, we bought some fresh seafood, and I decided to make an italian seafood salad, Insalata di mare. Got some squids, halibut and prawns tossed in a dressing of garlic, parsley, anchovies, capers, lemon zest and juice, and Premium EVOO of course, and served on a bed of Arugula. Ok, I know the mussels are missing, there weren’t any fresh mussels to be found.

It was still good, my husband loved it!

Spaghetti with Lemon marinated Sardines and Arugula

I needed to practise cooking pasta with the basic Italian ingredients, so for lunch yesterday, it was a simple spaghetti pasta with Lemon marinated sardines. I added a twist by incorporating the arugula when coating the pasta with the sauce.
Apparently, most sauces are prepared while the pasta is cooking. So that’s what I’ve been practising, and lunch is usually whipped up in less than 15 mins.
Frankly, whenever I’m in a hurry, or just hungry, pasta is probably the fastest and easiest meal to prepare.

Pan Seared Snapper served with Arugula and Spaghetti

Today, I have got a nice piece of snapper fillet. Simply seasoned with salt, freshly ground black pepper and lemon zest, the fillet is pan seared and finished in the oven.
The fish is served on a bed of Arugula with Garlic, Lemon and Parsley Spaghetti.
This is my way of preparing myself for the Culinary adventure in Italy, apart from trying to pick up some italian and watching Jamie Oliver’s escapade to Italy. I like what Jamie said(he’s also spent 2 months in Italy):”Sometimes, you’ve got to make yourself happy before you can make other people happy.” Guess that’s what I’m doing now.
I can’t believe it’s only 3 1/2  weeks away!
From → Culinary Journal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

