Skip to content

Chichibo

October 2, 2011

Chichibo

I know, it’s a funny name. Actually, the name in italian sounds like “don’t know any body”. It’s kinda weird how they got that name, but it sticks.
 
We were supposed to go to another highly recommended ristorante Santa Lucia, but it was closed for lunch on Sat. Anyway, we ended up in Chichibo, which was nearer where we stayed.
 
 

Al fresco dining

They have a nice area outside for al fresco dining. Al fresco actually refers to fresh or cool air by sitting outside. Usually, in temperate countries, during spring and autumn in particular, people like to sit outside because it’s cooler with fresh crisp air, compared to indoors which can be stuffy and warm as they don’t usually have air-conditioning like Singapore.
 
In such places, I can understand why people tend to prefer al fresco. But, in Singapore, people think al fresco means outdoor sitting, not realising the term referred to the air. The climate in Singapore is usually warm and humid, and hardly al fresco. Still, the term is synonymos with outdoor sitting, so we shan’t kick up a fuss over it.
 

Pasta with Cozze and Vongole

 
 We started with a pasta with Cozze (black mussels that are currently in season), and Vongole(the smaller clams). Somehow, I don’t know why the vongole during this time is super small. I can understand getting small vongole in Singapore, but I expected bigger vongole here. I figured it’s the timing. But, I’m in love with the Cozze, which are huge, fresh and juicy. So, I’m quite satisfied.
 

Gnocchi con Ragu

 Next, we had Gnocchi with Ragu. Gnocchi is a kind of pasta that is usually made with potatoes, and has a rather chewy texture.

 
Ragu basically refers to a meat sauce made with tomatoes. The gnocchi in Chichibo seems handmade and is pretty good compared to what I ate in some other places.
 

I fiori di zucca frite

 
 For side dishes, we had zuchini flower fritters, and fresh porcini fritters which didn’t make it to the blog, because it was eaten before we could whip out the camera. Zuchini flowers is not something I get to see often. But the 2 weeks that I’ve been here, it’s plentiful, in the market, and in the ristorante. Frankly, the side dishes are the highlights for me in this meal.
 
Zuppa Inglese

Lastly, for dessert, we had something I simply could not understand. Zuppa Ingese, translated, means English soup. There was no soup and there was nothing English about it, maybe except for that bit of custard. I suspect it’s an influence from the English trifle.

 
Anyway, it’s made with sponge cake soaked in a bright red italian liquer, Alchermes, and topped with some custard and chocolate sauce.
Although it was not my favourite dessert, I’m glad I tried it, something really traditional and typical of Italy.
From → Food travels

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

