Skip to content

Prova – Exam Trial

November 7, 2011

Torta di Mele

Last week, we had a trial test to prepare us for the actual exam this coming week. Everyone had 3 hrs to prepare a complete dish and serve it for 10 people. The other students either had meat or pastas, so I took dessert.

I prepared Dolci di Mele 2 tipo (Apple dessert 2 ways). The first was Torta di Mele which was a recipe from the first Marche chef. My husband always tells me that my food taste great, but the presentation usually needs some work. I was quite happy with how my Torta di Mele turned out, so I hope it’s good enough for him too.

The second one was Strudel di Mele, which was a recipe from the Trentino chef. The Rennet apples used in that recipe were very tart, and I didn’t really like it when the chef first made it. So, I made a zabaglione to go with it to soften the tartness.

Dolci di Mele due tipo

I used a lot of Vino Santo, a dessert wine, in the zabaglione, so it added more flavours to the dessert, and hopefully, made the traditional desserts more gourmet.

The chef who came a half hour before lunch to survey the kitchen as we were putting the final touches together, commented on each dish after that particular course was served. All of us did great, there were no disasters.

When the chef evaluated my dessert, he commented on how the tartness of the Rennet apples in the Strudel was balanced by the zabaglione. And he said it was ‘Ottimo’. That, made my day.

From → Culinary Journal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

